For export to India, manufacturers need BIS certification (ISI) under Foreign Manufacturers Certification Scheme (FMCS), or BIS registration (CRS) for certain products. The BIS Certification is obligatory for these products, so that they can be introduced and sold on the Indian market. BIS Certification India or BIS Registration issued by the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) ensure the quality, safety and reliability of products in accordance with Indian Standards (IS). The Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) is the national certification body in India under the umbrella of the Indian Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution. On April 1, 1987, it effectively replaced the Indian Standards Institution (ISI) organization and took over their functions.

There are three main types of certifications:

-BIS-Certification (ISI), Includes Factory Inspection (Scheme I, ISI Mark Scheme)

-BIS-Registration (CRS) Without Factory Inspection (Scheme II)

-BIS-Certification with Factory Inspection (Scheme X)

The BIS certification process always includes:

-Preparation of application documents and application at BIS

-Only with ISI: Factory Inspection

-Product tests in accredited laboratory

-Issuance of certificate

-Marking and labeling of the product

Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *